Hercules & Love Affair – Painted Eyes


My Love Affair continues with Herc & Co., who are back with yet another smouldering disco track from their latest effort, “Blue Songs”.  This is there latest single from said album and is destined for a vaguely lit dance floor near you.

Hercules & Love Affair – Painted Eyes


On  Blue Songs, Hercules’ mastermind Andy Butler has shifted the focus gently away from the New York house and disco forms of the debut; relocating to Denver and recording the album in Vienna with techno producer Patrick Pulsinger. Kim Ann Foxman returns on vocals, and is joined in starring roles by Venezuelan singer Aerea Negrot, fan-turned-collaborator Shaun Wright , Kele Okereke (Bloc Party) and Mark Pistel (Meat Beat Manifesto/Consolidated).  Blue Songs sees Butler broaden his musical palette   – “There’s definitely jacking house and there’s definitely even more full-blown disco, but there’s also more experimental, softer music” he explains. Be sure to catch the band on their extensive US tour as part of the Identity Festival to coincide with the release this summer.

Tracklisting for  Blue Songs

Disc 1

1. Painted Eyes
2.  My House
3.  Answers Come In Dreams
4. Leonora
5.  Boy Blue
6. Blue Songs
7. Falling
8. I Can’t Wait
9. Step Up
10.  Visitor
11.  It’s Alright

Bonus Tracks
12. Revenge
13.  Chanel
14.  Shelter

Disc 2

My House remixes

1. Stopmakingm   remix
2.  Tensnake remix
3.  Derrick Carter’s BHQ Voodoo remix
4. Andy Butler remix

Painted Eyes   remixes

5.  In Flagranti remix
6. Moonlight Matters  remix
7. Wolfram remix


Ali Love – Moscow Girl

Fitting I should come across Ali Love’s, “Moscow Girl” while gearing up for a Saturday night.  If you like shimmering disco lights and Giorgio Moroder-esque basslines, than this is for you.  Ali Love was also featured as a vocalist on The Chemical Brothers track, “Do It Again”.  One thing that stands out while listening to his music is the undeniable  Prince influence on Ali’s music, which for me is a win.

Ali Love – Moscow Girl

Ali Love – Smoke and Mirrors (Radio Edit)

Ali Love – Love In Darkness

Video for Moscow Girl:

Midnight Magic – Beam Me Up (Jacques Renault Remix)

This remix is pure disco magic.   Midnight Magic is a group from Brooklyn, New York and includes member from Hercules & Love Affair: Andrew Raposo, Morgan Wiley  and Carter Yasutake.  See this previous post on Hercules & Love Affair for more info on them.  Jacques Renault took this already soothing disco track and speed up the tempo a bit and added more ambient disco flare to make this track really sizzle.  I love how in the chorus we almost get to that Andy Gibb style vocal with the line,
“Baby don’t, Baby don’t, Baby don’t…”

Midnight Magic – Beam Me Up (Jacques Renault Remix)

Hercules & Love Affair — Blind